Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

God I’ve been shit at this blogging lark this year. 

I’m still managing my OCD really , really well. I think what’s helped is being approved foster carers for the last 20 mths and having the same two siblings during that time. 

Focusing on others who have far worse problems than yourself , especially children, has an uncanny knack of reducing your own anxieties and putting everything into perspective . Well , it certainly works for me!

I’ve been more open , more regularly about my condition. I’m 48 in November and in that lovely middle aged zone of not giving a fuck what anyone thinks anymore, so if the topic of mental health crops up, I’m in like Flynn and go into full confessional mode. I even came out on FaceBook earlier this year so go me! 

But before I get too cocky knickers I’ve still had a couple of episodes so to speak. Primarily these have occurred at night time just before bed, particularly if I’m the last up and need to check and lock up the house. That responsibility is unbearable, especially at that time of night when reality is distorted by the darkness and quiet. It’s always been the most difficult part of the day for me. 

P x